10.04.10

October 4, 2010 at 9:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

When I was in 5th and 6th grades, all the coolest girls in my class dressed preppy.  V-neck sweaters, tartan plaid, Gap jeans…  “Mom,” I said, “I think I want to start dressing preppy.”

A few hours later, we sat down to watch America’s Funniest People, the awful spinoff to America’s Funniest Home Videos, the awful spinoff to Full House.  “Ooh I LOVVVEE her dress,” I gushed about the skin tight, off the shoulder minidress that Dave Coulier’s co-host was wearing.  Did I mention it was printed with multi-colour dollar bills?

Why I was taking fashion cues from an obvious fashion victim, I’ll never know.  But my instincts were right on.  Cause still to this day, I have problems pulling off American sportswear.  This is my ode to Michael Kors’s Fall 2010 Ready-to-WearDanielle Meder’s is much, much more compelling.  Thanks anyway, Bazaar, but I think I’ll sit out this trend.

10.04
– Chambray shirt, NY & Company
– Khakis, The Limited
– Tobacco stacked heels, Nine West
– Clear lucite belt

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] What Would Jilly Wear – “Dressing unapologetically… then apologizing or reserving the right to at a later time” […]


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.