12.02.09

December 2, 2009 at 11:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

My friend Erin’s a real peach.  That’s probably the only time in her life she’s been referred to as a “peach,” because the truth is, she’s a lot more like a prickly pear.  Erin, or Aerin as I like to call her, exaggerating her Midwest accent, is probably best known for her absurd, curt, hilarious quips.  Ranging from “Quinn, why don’t you ever want to play the game where Mommy is the sleeping princess and you play quietly so as not to wake her,” to “Oh for f*ck’s sake,”  she always has something quirky and funny to say.

One (of the many) mornings I woke up in her studio apartment, late for work with only the pants I’d slept in, dear Erin had this to say, as she rummaged through her closet:

“Here JC, try these, they used to fit me when I was fat.”

A pair of pants landed on my dazed head.

Sure enough, they fit, and now that I’m just the age that Erin was when said incident occurred, I know exactly what she’s talking about.  And if a chipper little co-ed were ever to crash at my house and I looked better than she did, I just might say the same thing.

But like a prickly pear, Erin’s sweet on the inside.  When she left NYC to head home to Chicago, she left me with the sweater I’m wearing today.  Which, ahem, fit her when she *wasn’t* fat.

12.02
– Jeanne Pierre sweater (*thanks Erin!)
– H&M satin pants
Russian Valenki boots (scored ’em at Buffalo Exchange for $25 — they are the warmest things EVA!)
– Ray Ban specs
– Gold watch by Vestal
– Tiffany mesh ring (not pictured, *thanks Mom!)
– Assorted silver rings

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. we have pictures on our walls all over the building of things such as: cherry tree varieties, artists’ renditions of what the wold may have looked like 2 million years ago, random silhouettes of people’s heads, and old maps of europe that look like they may lead to mordor. i suggested they replace all of it with employee’s kids’ original artwork, such as these: http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=irule

    i’ve been to that page about a dozen times and have never made it all the way to the end of the second page. i start laughing so hard i have to close it or i’d get fired. that’s all i’ve got for today. those boots are bananas.

  2. Hahahaha, that page is tremendous. I actually thought the fire truck was pretty good, but then the author made a good point about it being hairy, haha. I also read back to his fashion post and noticed his thoughts on red lipstick. Was wondering if your purposefully meant for that to happen, hmmmm?

    Those pictures on the walls are articles about my company and awards we’ve won. From a “wall art” perspective we have a lot of abstract paintings. I’ll try to incorporate them into future WWJW posts.

    • Jilla, this is a Barrett’s shoes moment. I had seen Maddox’s page many times before (thanks Wage!), including to read the part where he says the only thing that goes with Crocs is social ostracism. Miracle. Anyway, Mike and I began discussing the other fashion reviews (via gchat, which you simply must get on), whereby Mike declared he hates red lipstick. I then said, “Poor Jill,” complete with a frowny emoticon. The boots could be worn with that Russian hate from Brian Schlaupitz or cuted up with this outfit you’re rocking. I like it. It’s tame with an affectionate slap. Also, good choice in wearing the glasses with it. Nice touch. Final thoughts, Aerin’s comments made me laugh out loud. And to answer your question, yes, I read this stuff.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

