06.09.10

June 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Delving into my May copy of Harper’s Bazaar, I read a quote from model Lara Stone that left me aghast:

When asked once what other models think of her measurements, she responded, “Usually, their reaction is that they wish they had tits like mine.”

To be fair, the quote was in the context of the return of curves to fashion.  But — the arrogance!  The smut!  Then I began doing a little research on Ms. Stone.  Turns out, she’s damn likable!  A size 4 among women as lithe as the dancers I saw perform at a high school recital last night, it’s hard not to relate to her closer-to-average proportions.  The gap between her front teeth is another imperfection that gives her character, distinction, and material for her wit; she’s also been quoted as saying, “Every time I go to the dentist, they always say, ‘You really need to fix that gap of yours.’ I’m like, ‘My gap is paying your dentist bills.'”

So Lara — I know my opinion of you keeps you up nights, so let me apologize for judging you based on one statement.  Turns out you’re probably right… and I was definitely wrong.  Best wishes!

06.09
– Chambray shirt, NY & Company
– Black pants, Express
– Leather flip flops, Mossimo
– Belt, O’Neill
– David Yurman aqua chalcedony ring
– Porcupine ring
– Peace and moonstone necklace
– Pyramid stud earrings 2.0

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I appreciate the mouse over comment on the picture because the whole time I was thinking, “What the hell does this outfit have to do with Lara Stone?”

    Nice shirt but I can’t see the accessories.

  2. Sometimes my outfits are quite unremarkable, so I write about body image or things that are on the fringe of fashion. 2010 has been big on normalizing models, which deserves attention!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

