09.02.10

September 2, 2010 at 9:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Sometimes you see something so beautiful, so full of grace, so epic, that you can’t imagine someone not being awed by it too.  Last Wednesday I blogged about The Beauty of the Power Game, a video directed by Dewey Nicks, starring modern day tennis greats.  Each athlete is a strong, attractive female; through the magic of movies, her strength and attractiveness is highlighted.  The result is a captivating video, one that allured me not once but five times, and compelled me to share it on my page.

Colour me dumbfounded… this week Jezebel followed up with a meandering “Are they females?  Or are they athletes?” anti-story.  Prompted by reader comments like, “Is it really necessary to back-light their photographs so their unsecured hair flips around, and their heavily-made-up faces shine?” the piece babbles in circles without a thesis or even a coherent thought to ground it.

Hasn’t this topic been exhausted already?  What’s so wrong about Victoria Azarenka looking focused and fierce?  So what if Vera Zvonareva’s eyes shoot blue ice; that’s intimidating or admirable, depending on where you’re standing.  And what does this even mean?!:

“For a few years now, there’s been a cultural binary in place: sex-kittens versus amazons.  Now, it seems we’re combining the two: strong is sexy.  On the one hand, great.  On the other… well, yes.”

Could somebody shed some light on that statement?  ‘Cause I have no idea.  But I do know that a glorious, celebratory piece of cinematography has left some individuals displeased, and I can’t fathom why that might be.

In the same vein, I saw this video promoting the launch of Levi’s CurveID jeans, a new approach to denim that accounts for booty abundance in their sizing.  I was as excited to share the video as I was about trying on the various fits.  Invariably, it rubbed some people the wrong way.

The jeans will only be offered in waist sizes 22 to 34, while the average American woman has a 37” waist.”

“That pisses off women who are truly curvy. You want to see real curves? Look at Crystal Renn.  Look at Jennifer Lopez*.  Look at Christina Hendricks.  Look at Beyoncé*.”
(*both of whom were already cited in the rant)

“Cinderelly!”

Whoops I mean: “The models in the photo would be laughed at if you tried to bring them into Black and Latina communities and say they were ‘curvy.'”

So, by expanding its offerings — the only part about the whole brouhaha that’s problematic IMHO — to include women whose assets are more like assssssssets or even asssssssssssssssets, Levi’s has managed to offend: plus-size women, curvy women, white women, non-white women, and probably Glenn Beck.

Well society, I apologize for thinking the Levi’s CurveID video is cute, and that the jeans are something I might be interested in.  And I’m wearing my 631s to show my support to Levi’s.

09.02
– Misfits t-shirt
– Levi’s 631 skinny jeans in cloud wash
– Steve Madden gladiator flats
– Assorted bracelets
– Jointed armour ring
– Mismatched earrings

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your write up. Honestly, if someone’s take-away from viewing that beautiful montage of athleticism is to harumpf and scoff that it is an affront to women, well they just don’t get it.

    You’re 100% correct. The piece DOES “babble in circles without a thesis or even a coherent thought to ground it.”

    And there IS no sense behind this statement:
    “For a few years now, there’s been a cultural binary in place: sex-kittens versus amazons. Now, it seems we’re combining the two: strong is sexy. On the one hand, great. On the other… well, yes.”

    It’s criticism for the sake of criticism. Apparently, being inadvertently beautiful sets women back to the Dark Ages.

    And, as someone who sometimes has to buy “black”-branded jeans like Roc-A-Wear because my butt and thighs are thicker than my waist lets on, I also applaud Levi’s for their efforts. And you make such a valid point that by TRYING to include more options, suddenly women are offended. So, if they didn’t want to be inclusive of different butt sizes, that’s not offensive to “real” curvy women, yet offering a solution to a challenge of fashion fit IS?

    I object. For heaven’s sake, I object.

  2. Update: An interview with 2 of Levi’s Marketing and Communications executives”


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.